NaNoWriMo 2014: Chapter 6

We walk in the house in silence. The silence stays even after we walk in. My parents are sitting on the couch, staring at us. Gesturing, with their eyes, to sit down. We do.
“We have some news.” My father says. This can’t be good, I think. “You’re father has been recruited as a full time scientist. “YAY!” David yells. Maybe David is right, maybe this is a good thing. My father will bring in more money into our house and find out wonderful information. Maybe, he can help me find out the information about Derek Smool. “We should all be very proud. Your father will be home on weekends and at 8:00 at night on weekdays to see us.” My mother says with a shy smile, and teary eyes. I run to her and give her a hug. I can see the sadness on her face. She must think of the positive outcomes for this to work. “Uncle Mark has also been recruited, he will be my assistant.” Uncle Mark is my father’s brother. He has two wonderful twin daughter who are only three years old. I wonder how he will be feeling. Leaving his wife and two toddlers must be troubling for him.
“Don’t be upset mom, at least he will be home during the night, and on Saturday and Sunday.” I say. “We will just need to adjust to the change. Don’t worry.” My mom looks at me. “I know sweety, thank you. You are right, as always.”

What are your thoughts?

